Board of Directors

The current members of the CBTF Board of Directors are:

President Joanne Moser, ON
Past-President Jeff Johnson, ON
1st Vice-President Karen Gratton, BC
2nd Vice-President Beth Swain, AB
Secretary Cindy Dietrich, SK
Treasurer Terry Stewart, SK
Technical Chair Dana Peteleski, MB
Judges' Rep Jenna Jemieff, AB
Coaches' Rep Maureen Johnson, SK
Athlete's Rep Alyssa Larade, NS & Chantal Sutton, ON
British Columbia Chair Shannon Webster, BC
Alberta Chair Candy Tedford, AB
Saskatchewan Chair Leeann Skinner, SK
Manitoba Chair Edie Parisian, MB
Ontario President Megan Mariani, ON
Quebec President Julie Cushman, QC
New Brunswick Chair Todd Middleton, NB
Nova Scotia Chair Kim Jollimore, NS


CBTF Board of Directors members are elected to their positions for two-year terms. [Note: Provincial representatives to these bodies are elected according to each province's own by-laws.]

The CBTF recently adopted an alternating election system. Under this new system, some positions will be elected in even-numbered years and other positions will be elected in odd-numbered year.

At the 2009 election, and in the odd-numbered years following, the positions open for election will be:

  • President
  • 2nd Vice-President
  • Secretary

Also at the 2009 election, and in the odd-numbered years following, the Technical Committee positions open for election will be:

  • Judges Representative
  • Coaches Representative
  • Athletes Representative
  • Group Representative
  • Skills Development Program Representative
  • Sanction Officer

At the 2010 election, and in the even-numbered years following, the positions open for election will be:

  • 1st Vice-President
  • Treasurer
  • Technical Chair


The nomination form for Honorary Memberships is attached. The nominee does not have to be a current member of CBTF and, in fact, this award is particularly suited to recognizing a friend of the sport that is not an active member.

Completed Nomination Forms, including biography, should be sent to the CBTF 1st Vice-President, Karen Gratton. Nominations may be sent by email to 1stvpatcbtf [dot] ca - this is the preferred method. If Regular Mail is necessary, first email 1stvpatcbtf [dot] ca and request instructions.

The nomination deadline for the Honorary Membership is April 1, 2020.

Please note: Any CBTF Member in good standing may make a nomination for Honorary Membership. The nominee does not have to be a current CBTF Member.

The contributions and/or achievements of past CBTF Honorary Members have had a long-lasting effect on the development of baton twirling as it is today in Canada and, in some cases, at the international level. Recipients of this award are no longer active in CBTF or the sport nor do they hold a current CBTF membership. If Nominee has served the CBTF on a national level, she/he shall have served the CBTF for a minimum of three years however service to provincial bodies is also taken into consideration.

When preparing the nominee's biography, please consider the following:

  • Why this individual should be recognized as an Honorary Member of CBTF?
  • The number of years the Nominee had served or been a member of the CBTF.
  • In what capacity(ies) has the Nominee served the CBTF (eg: administrator, advisory, volunteer, coach, judge, athlete)?
  • What contributions has he/she made to the development of baton in Canada?

Group contact lists for the National and Provincial Boards and various CBTF Committees. We encourage you to use these group email lists to avoid missing someone.

We also maintain private contact lists for various groups, which are accessible by Board of Directors and Technical Committee members only. If you have access, please treat these lists with respect - they are meant to facilitate communication between Boards in each province; they are not meant for broad distribution.



  • executiveatcbtf [dot] ca... the CBTF Executive Committee
  • boardatcbtf [dot] ca... the complete CBTF Board of Directors
  • technical-committeeatcbtf [dot] ca... the complete CBTF Technical Committee
  • education-committeeatcbtf [dot] ca... the CBTF Education Committee


Provincial Reps

  • board-provinceatcbtf [dot] ca... Provincial Heads on the Board of Directors
  • technical-provinceatcbtf [dot] ca... Provincial Technical Reps on the Technical Committee
  • athletereps-provinceatcbtf [dot] ca... Provincial Athlete Reps
  • coachreps-provinceatcbtf [dot] ca... Provincial Coaches' Reps
  • judgereps-provinceatcbtf [dot] ca... Provincial Judges' Reps
  • groupreps-provinceatcbtf [dot] ca... Provincial Group Reps
  • sdpreps-provinceatcbtf [dot] ca... Provincial SDP Reps


The position of Athletes' Representative on the CBTF Technical Committee and Board of Directors is scheduled for election this year.

At the 2018 Fall Conference, the CBTF Board of Directors agreed to a new procedure for the election of the Athletes' Representative and this procedure will be in effect for the 2019-21 term.

Under the new procedure, the Provincial Athletes' Representatives will form a new body: the Athlete's Commission. The Athletes' Comission, at their first meeting of the season, will select one of their own members to be the Athletes' Representative to the Board of Directors and the Technical Committee.

The Board will choose the date of the first Athletes' Commission meeting of the season, but it is expected to be sometime in November 2019 so as to give each of the provinces ample opportunity to fill their own Athletes' Representative position for the season.

As a result of this change, the term for the CBTF Athletes' will be changed to run from the Fall 2019 Athletes' Commission meeting to the Fall 2021 Athletes' Commission meeting.

The requirements for the CBTF Athlete's Representative remain unchanged. They must:

  • Be 18 years of age or older
  • Be registered as a competing athlete in the year of nomination
  • Have participated in the Canadian Winner/Championship (either as an individual or group member) for one year or more